Council welcomes new Mayor and Sheriff of Gloucester

Gloucester City Council confirm their new Mayor and Sheriff of the city at the council’s annual meeting.

Councillor Kathy Williams (Longlevens, Conservative) has become the new Mayor of Gloucester, after 18 years of service to the city as an elected representative.

She will take over from Gloucester city councillor Howard Hyman (Elmbridge, Liberal Democrat).

Fellow councillor Justin Hudson (Quedgeley Severn Vale, Conservatives) will take the position of Sheriff following on from the current Sheriff, Joanne Brown (Barnwood, Liberal Democrat).

A former nurse, Cllr Williams became a county councillor in 2005 and was responsible for Adult Social Care Delivery, which included areas of dementia care, domestic abuse, mental health and asylum seekers. She was elected to the city council in May 2007.

Cllr Kathy Williams said: “I am very honoured to have been elected as the 543rd Mayor of Gloucester. I have lived in Gloucester since 1981 and I have seen the city grow and change and look forward to representing it in my civic capacity as the Mayor. Part of my role involves raising money for charities and Gloucester City Farm along with Music Works have been chosen this year.”

The Mayor is the first citizen of the City of Gloucester and acts as Chair of the Council. They represent the council and the city at civic, ceremonial and community events both inside the city boundaries and elsewhere.

Cllr Justin Hudson who will take the role of Sheriff of Gloucester said: “I am Gloucester born and bred and to have worked alongside the City Council on so many projects has been an honour. For this journey to become the Deputy Mayor and Sheriff of Gloucester humbles me beyond words. I pledge to work tirelessly for the City of Gloucester, with the aim to include and empower as many of our young people as possible. If this can happen to me, it can surely happen for them also.”

Councillors Williams and Hudson were formally elected to their respective roles at the Mayor-Making ceremony during the annual council meeting on Monday 22 May following a vote by councillors.